Co-Directors & Editors

Shana Sippy 

(Ph.D. Columbia University, 2018) is Research Associate at Carleton College, where she taught from 2009-2016. She is also currently a Visiting Instructor at Centre College in Danville, KY. Her recently deposited dissertation, entitled Diasporic Desires: Making Hindus and the Cultivation of Longing explores articulations and representations of religious and cultural identities among Hindus in the U.S. and transnationally. More generally, her work examines the politics of religious identity, the making of Hindu and Jewish selves and communities in modernity, as well as the intersection of religious traditions with colonialism, social movements and globalization. Other projects have examined the adoption and re-visioning and re-interpretation of Jewish rituals, the religious and political alliances between Hindus and Jews/India and Israel, and, since coming to Minnesota, she has increasingly conducted research on Somali Muslim communities as well. Before setting on the long and winding path of academia, Shana co-authored, with Rachel Dobkin, Educating Ourselves: The College Women's Handbook (Workman Press, 1996).

Michael D. McNally 

(Ph.D. Harvard University, 1996) is Professor and Chair of the Religion Department at Carleton College, where he has taught since 2001. Trained as an American Religious Historian, his scholarship concerns the religions and religious histories of Native American communities, especially Minnesota’s Ojibwe, or Anishinaabe community.  He is author of Ojibwe Singers: Hymns, Grief and a Native Culture in Motion (Oxford U Press 2000, MN Hist. Soc. Press, 2009) and Honoring Elders: Aging, Authority, and Ojibwe Religion (Columbia U. Press, 2009) and is currently spending the year as Guggenheim Fellow completing a book entitled Native American Religious Freedom beyond the First Amendment

Student Researchers

Students at Carleton College, with a number of Macalester College students, are the key contributors to the project's web content.  Student authors are identified and credited on the initial page of each site. 

All the work here represents a substantive collaboration between students, community members, faculty and staff. 

Student Contributing Editors

A number of students over a number of years have generously and capably helped bring the original essays to editorial and technical fruition.  Student contributing editors have included:

  • Will Yetvin (2016-2017)
  • Natalie Jacobson (2016)
  • Leah Meltzer (2016)
  • Laura Levitt (2015)
  • Hannah Rothblatt (2014)
  • Zazuki Ragde (2014)
  • Izzy Zeitz-Moskin (2013)
  • Hannah Telagen (2013), digital humanities
  • Sarah Goldman (2013)
  • Rachel Foran (2012)
  • Colin MacArthur (2010)
  • Francesca Chubb-Confer (2010)